Page 1 of 1

Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 19 May 2017, 13:00
by apophis775
Due to some DOS attempts and shenanigans, I blocked a shitload of common VPN ranges as well as less "reputable" ISPs in a lot of countries with more "liberal" views on internet laws.

If this happens to you, you'll get an "ACCESS DENIED" message. Post here if you have the issue and I'll see what I can do.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 19 May 2017, 14:26
by Tomoyobro
Yep, it just hit me. BYOND tag is the same as username here.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 19 May 2017, 15:27
by Feweh
Tomoyobro wrote:Yep, it just hit me. BYOND tag is the same as username here.


Whos your internet provider

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 19 May 2017, 16:28
by Tomoyobro
WOW! Internet, also known as WOWWAY/Wide Out West/ etc.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 20 May 2017, 06:28
by dualsaber
Hello apophis775 and everyone who is a member and staff of this community, i believe i'm the reason that so called "DOS attack".

I was working on a Chrome extension that checks for servers (TG, Goon, CM, FTL, etc.) and notifies important incidents like when Shuttle called/recalled/docked, Security Level Changes, Game State with some game information like map, player count, round duration.

I was using TG's code in their open-source github repo (getserverdata, serverinfo) to reach the servers and get the data the extension uses. In my early development stage, i may have pinged the servers too much with low interval (one ping every 5 seconds). I removed CM server as soon as i get errors from the server.

I'm the one who need to apologize.
I'm really sorry for this inconvinience if I'm actually the cause of it, I have never wanted to harm this or any server through my work. My intention was to help the players easily find a server to play on. If you want I can show my code to you (it's not ready to go open source) which will show you that I only gather data every 5 seconds. I really did not consider pinging every 5 seconds would be a problem on the server.

I'm not a veteran CM player but from the moment i've first played, I loved the idea and execution behind it. Really hit the mark for me. The community is great as well. I did not want to harm any aspect of both the game and the community.

Again, I'm really sorry. If you have any ideas to improve what I have been trying to achive, please, I'm open to constructive criticism and feedbacks.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 20 May 2017, 14:53
by Rahlzel
It's all good - it's not your fault. We found the issue and patched it, and it had nothing to do with getting pinged. Thanks for the honesty though.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 20 May 2017, 15:33
by apophis775
dualsaber wrote:Hello apophis775 and everyone who is a member and staff of this community, i believe i'm the reason that so called "DOS attack".

I was working on a Chrome extension that checks for servers (TG, Goon, CM, FTL, etc.) and notifies important incidents like when Shuttle called/recalled/docked, Security Level Changes, Game State with some game information like map, player count, round duration.

I was using TG's code in their open-source github repo (getserverdata, serverinfo) to reach the servers and get the data the extension uses. In my early development stage, i may have pinged the servers too much with low interval (one ping every 5 seconds). I removed CM server as soon as i get errors from the server.

I'm the one who need to apologize.
I'm really sorry for this inconvinience if I'm actually the cause of it, I have never wanted to harm this or any server through my work. My intention was to help the players easily find a server to play on. If you want I can show my code to you (it's not ready to go open source) which will show you that I only gather data every 5 seconds. I really did not consider pinging every 5 seconds would be a problem on the server.

I'm not a veteran CM player but from the moment i've first played, I loved the idea and execution behind it. Really hit the mark for me. The community is great as well. I did not want to harm any aspect of both the game and the community.

Again, I'm really sorry. If you have any ideas to improve what I have been trying to achive, please, I'm open to constructive criticism and feedbacks.



There was a DOS attack, but it was not you. Unless, you were sending high-data packets from Russia, Romania, Syria, and Turkey for around 6 hours yesterday.

Did you get a ban on your IP? I don't see it in the firewall. I can take it off. Pinging the server for status every 5 seconds is fine.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 20 May 2017, 15:36
by apophis775
I don't see Tomoyobro anywhere, and your IP is not blocked by the firewall as much as I can tell.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 21 May 2017, 13:36
by Tomoyobro
https://puu.sh/vX8XY/57fcace5e6.png

I don't understand what's causing the block then.

I updated the client in the case that was the issue but the same error occurs.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 23 May 2017, 03:25
by dualsaber
apophis775 wrote:There was a DOS attack, but it was not you. Unless, you were sending high-data packets from Russia, Romania, Syria, and Turkey for around 6 hours yesterday.

Did you get a ban on your IP? I don't see it in the firewall. I can take it off. Pinging the server for status every 5 seconds is fine.


I'm from Turkey but i don't believe i'm sending high-data packets. Because TG part of the extension is working fine. I still can't connect to server in BYOND. I'm getting "Dream Seeker may be experiencing a problem reaching byond.com..." instead of "Access Denied".

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 23 May 2017, 11:14
by Feweh
dualsaber wrote:I'm from Turkey but i don't believe i'm sending high-data packets. Because TG part of the extension is working fine. I still can't connect to server in BYOND. I'm getting "Dream Seeker may be experiencing a problem reaching byond.com..." instead of "Access Denied".


Oh you didnt hear about BYOND blocking all of Turkey because of Erdogan?

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 23 May 2017, 21:56
by Tomoyobro
Sorry for bumping again, but I'd really like some sort of resolution for my issue when possible.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 24 May 2017, 13:57
by apophis775
Yeah, that's an IP block, but I don't see your IP on the firewall list, unless you are posting from a different IP when you post here.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 24 May 2017, 14:25
by Tomoyobro
The only thing I can think of is that I have changed modems since when I first began playing on CM, but it's a static IP that I can provide to you in PM if you need it to check. Otherwise nothing should be different.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 24 May 2017, 16:01
by Feweh
Tomoyobro wrote:The only thing I can think of is that I have changed modems since when I first began playing on CM, but it's a static IP that I can provide to you in PM if you need it to check. Otherwise nothing should be different.


Make a ban appeal and provide all the information required, itll be easier to track this conversation and for record keeping.

Re: Apologies if you can't access the server...

Posted: 25 May 2017, 06:41
by Neray
Oi, not sure if it's related, but I can't access server from my usual IP range, not even ping it (as for byond, it gives usual "check your connection" error). VPN from the same city works just fine though, which made me wonder if my provider/IPs somehow got into your blacklist.