Wireless power transmission?

Confirmed bug reports that need to be fixed.
Locked
User avatar
wastedfate
Registered user
Posts: 75
Joined: 16 Dec 2015, 04:01

Wireless power transmission?

Post by wastedfate » 22 Jan 2017, 03:53

Bug Description: It would seem that the wires on the Sulaco no longer matter. Though cutting wires on Ice Colony or Big Red still does, last I checked. Image

Steps to reproduce:
1. Cut wires going to any APC on the Sulaco.
2. Check the APC to still see it charging.
3. Optional: Leave a small bit connected to the terminal, multitool it to see the power on that bit of wire rise and fall as you change the output on the SMES.

I wired the Starboard SMES into the medbay wiring, and then tried to cut medbay out of the regular power grid, so that it would work as a backup for just medbay. No matter how many wires I cut, I could not isolate it. So I tried to cut the wire directly below the APC, and found that the APC was still charging, even with nothing connected to it at all.

This could have been a bug for that specific round, and I'll try to reproduce it ASAP.
Image

User avatar
TheMusician321
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 468
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 01:39
Byond: TheMusician321
Steam: 50ShadesOfIcedTea

Re: Wireless power transmission?

Post by TheMusician321 » 22 Jan 2017, 04:31

Image

I reproduced it on Anna's request, I even fired the emitter a few times, changed batteries, none, no power loss at all, this wsas on ice colony the round just after.
Image Image
Image

Ed 'Wafflecone' Martin bites the Mature Hunter (251)!

I play as Ed 'Waffles' Martin or his sister, Amaryllis 'Pancakes' Martin.

Never Forget, Dust Raider. 10/15/17.

User avatar
wastedfate
Registered user
Posts: 75
Joined: 16 Dec 2015, 04:01

Re: Wireless power transmission?

Post by wastedfate » 22 Jan 2017, 04:35

TheMusician321 wrote:I reproduced it on Anna's request, I even fired the emitter a few times, changed batteries, none, no power loss at all, this wsas on ice colony the round just after.
From what I've tested so far, if you shut off the SMES, the APCs all still die. It's just that every cable onboard the Sulaco upper deck, and maybe the lower, is part of the powernet. Even if it's NOT connected, somehow with the exception of those in the engine room.
Image

User avatar
TheMusician321
Mentor
Mentor
Posts: 468
Joined: 25 Aug 2016, 01:39
Byond: TheMusician321
Steam: 50ShadesOfIcedTea

Re: Wireless power transmission?

Post by TheMusician321 » 22 Jan 2017, 06:38

wastedfate wrote:From what I've tested so far, if you shut off the SMES, the APCs all still die. It's just that every cable onboard the Sulaco upper deck, and maybe the lower, is part of the powernet. Even if it's NOT connected, somehow with the exception of those in the engine room.
here's a photo of the escape APC that's STILL on 2 hours and 30 minutes after the round with all wires cut.

Image
Image Image
Image

Ed 'Wafflecone' Martin bites the Mature Hunter (251)!

I play as Ed 'Waffles' Martin or his sister, Amaryllis 'Pancakes' Martin.

Never Forget, Dust Raider. 10/15/17.

User avatar
Snypehunter007
Admin
Admin
Posts: 2600
Joined: 02 Dec 2015, 17:14
Location: Georgia
Byond: Snypehunter007
Contact:

Re: Wireless power transmission?

Post by Snypehunter007 » 25 Jan 2017, 21:44

Confirmed (?) then.
► Show Spoiler
Staff History:
► Show Spoiler

User avatar
ZDashe
Registered user
Posts: 627
Joined: 02 Dec 2015, 23:28

Re: Wireless power transmission?

Post by ZDashe » 27 Jun 2017, 07:02

Bump. Just confirmed this same bug still persists after so long, even on the new Almayer.

Steps to reproduce:

1. Install a cable leading to nowhere, and check that it is unpowered using a multitool.
2. Join said cable to another powered wire, and use a multitool to check that it is now powered
3. Cut the cable that you placed in step 2.
4. Check the isolated cable section with a multitool and notice that it's magically powered wirelessly.
Image

Locked